Heinz Foodservice Canada logo EN

Boomers vs. Millennials

Boomers vs Millennials

Dining parties split down generational divide

girl on phoneA report from the International Foodservice Distributors Association demystifies some of the differences between Millennials and Baby Boomers. Millennials are defined as those born between 1977 and 1994, while their parents’ generation, the Baby Boomers, are those born between 1946 and 1964.

 

Understanding the nuances between the two groups can help restaurant operators effectively target their customers. For instance, Boomers said for the majority of their meals, they have time to sit and enjoy them, while Millennials put more importance on trying new restaurants and different types of food.


When it comes to technology, Millennials are more likely to use the Internet and their smartphones to make reservations and view menus, while Boomers prefer to order face-to-face or by phone for pickup and takeout.


The two groups do agree on how they choose where to eat: the cleanliness of the restaurant, food that tastes freshly prepared and getting a good value for their money.


Why should you care? Boomers now account for 40 percent of restaurant dollars spent, a spending power Millennials will match by 2020.

Les bébés-boumeurs et la génération Y

Boomers vs Millennials

Les goûts et les habitudes de table changent d’une génération à l’autre.

girl on phone


Un rapport publié par la International Foodservice Distributors Association fournit une bonne analyse de certains points qui distinguent la génération Y de celle des bébés-boumeurs. Par définition, les membres de la génération Y sont nés entre 1977 et 1994, tandis que leurs parents sont nés entre 1946 et 1964. 

Les exploitants qui comprennent les distinctions entre les deux générations ont de meilleures chances de bien cibler leur clientèle. Par exemple, quand on questionne les bébés-boumeurs, ces derniers disent que dans la majorité des cas, ils peuvent prendre le temps de s’asseoir et de savourer leur repas, tandis que les membres de la génération Y disent accorder plus d’importance à l’essai de nouveaux restaurants et de différents types d’aliments.

Au chapitre des nouvelles technologies, les membres de la génération Y sont plus enclins à utiliser Internet ou leur téléphone intelligent pour faire leurs réservations ou consulter le menu, alors que dans le cas des commandes à emporter, les bébé-boumeurs préfèrent commander en personne ou par téléphone.

Les deux générations s’entendent au moins sur les critères de sélection d’un restaurant: la propreté, la fraîcheur des plats au menu ou des ingrédients utilisés, et le rapport qualité-prix.

Pourquoi vous attarder à ces détails? Dites-vous qu’aux États-Unis, les bébés-boumeurs représentent 40 pour cent des dépenses de restauration, et ce pouvoir d’achat ne sera atteint par les membres de la génération Y qu’en 2020.